​THE HEAT OF VIRGINITY episode 9

Episode 9
The institution made arrangements for me to travel to the U.S for a 10 months managerial course. 
I only wished I could tell the good news to Regina, but there was no means, she didn’t have a phone, she wasn’t on social media and not even an email account, Few days later I traveled to Texas, U.S.
It was a wonderful learning experience and I was well taken care of. I met people from different parts of the world and I had a great time. At the end of the exercise, I returned to Ghana and the following day I was assigned to the position of an assistant manager.
I had my own office and desk, it was too good to be true. My salary was wow!! My life was beautiful. After 3 months of working I was able to acquire a brand new car. I could afford any luxury that I wanted.
My fashion changed, I got lots of cool natives and suits, expensive wrist watches, perfumes… I didn’t know how to spend my money, every month it kept on growing in numbers and since I wasn’t really an out going type with only few friends I had a huge savings.
A former course mate at the University was having a wedding. I was invited and I felt it was a very good opportunity for me to meet up with good old friends. I came late for the church wedding so I took a back seat and shortly after the church ceremony ended and we all dispersed to the reception not too far away.
At the reception I took a secluded seat. I never really liked to mingle and I decided to just observe from a distance. I saw lots of old faces that made me smile. It was really good seeing their happy faces again. But a face I would never forget was Ella’s.
I had a major crush on Ella for 2 sessions and a semester, until she and Adams started dating shortly before we all graduated.

 

Ella never reciprocated the feelings and it was difficult to open up to her. She’s a beautiful fair skinned lady and very decent. She was into crafts: She made beads, shoes, bags and cloths.
She carved out a name for herself on campus. I was so pleased to see everyone smiling and having a good time. I was busy with my phone and next thing, I looked up and I saw Ella coming my way. 
My heart beat began to accelerate faster as she approached me. She had a smile on and I knew I was in trouble. She pulled out a seat on my table and sat down, she then said. 
“Look who we have here… Mr Loner. You haven’t really changed have you?” She asked

“Hi Ella, so good to see you.” I greeted

“oh Mark, the guy I liked so much but never had the balls to walk up to me.” She said calmly

“Wait…You don’t mean it.” I reacted

“You never knew I liked you? Why did you think I was always in your class hanging with Chioma?” she asked again

“Oh my God… But you ended up dating Adams now?” I reminded her

“You are pathetic Mark. If you knew how long I came around your class hoping you would act. You know, I knew you have always been serious minded, focused and very dedicated. You were not just man enough.” she continued
“Are you still with Adams?”

“Adams and I broke up during service year, he wasn’t serious at all.” 

“Is it too late, Ella?” I asked
She laughed and shook her head. 
“Mark you are still pathetic. You haven’t changed but it’s still cute though.” 

“How about your craft business?”

“It’s doing well, I use my house for now but I really need a place because sometimes I get large orders and no space to work. I am thinking of getting a job so I can save up to get a place for my business.”  
“Okay…. Ella, I know I messed up in the past. I am sorry about that, I was very shy and immature. I have really changed, trust me on this. I have always admired you, always patronize your crafts even though I never needed them. If There’s nobody you are seeing, please consider me. I am begging you.”…
AND THEN EPISODE 10 COMES IN

Leave a Reply

